ASTLEY’s first war memorial will be officially unveiled on Saturday, June 8.

It has been installed at the Bullcroft on Manchester Road, next to The Bull’s Head pub.

To mark the centenary of the start of the First World War in 2014, the 1st Astley Lions Troop scouts researched the lives of 60 men from the village who died in the conflict.

They went to the archives service at Leigh Library and searched online in their studies.

The group discovered when and where the men died, and what streets they lived on in Astley, which were marked out on a 1905 map.

The scouts created a display to showcase their work which included pictures and newspaper articles

The work carried out by the scouts inspired a memorial to be installed in the town.

Astley residents, supported by councillors Christine Roberts, Barry Taylor and Paula Wakefield raised money via grant funding.

And last year, vicar of St Stephen’s Church, Reverend Martin Cox, secured money from Grantscape to build and install the memorial.

Blacksmith Darren Block designed and constructed the steel memorial.

R Banks and Son Ltd funeral directors and stonemasons Rawsons Memorials carried out work there with arrangements received by Wigan Council.

The ceremony will be held at 10.45am where everyone involved in the project are expected to attend as well as members of the Royal British Legion.

Astley Unlimited Band are set to perform and a bugler will be in attendance.

It is hoped those who were involved in the 1st Astley Lions Scout group will be there as their work influenced the building of the memorial.

Refreshments will be served at St Stephen’s CE Primary School afterwards.