LABOUR held on to Leigh South in this year’s local elections, with Kevin Anderson edging out the Conservative’s Joshua Yates.

Cllr Anderson secured 1,695 votes to Mr Yates 1,423 to win a tightly fought contest and in Leigh East Keith Cunliffe comfortably saw off challengers.

In Leigh West, Sue Greensmith also won by a landslide.

Indeed, it proved to be a positive day overall for Labour across Leigh and the rest of the Wigan borough.

In total 26 seats were contested. Labour took 19, with the Conservatives four, two independents and the Independent Network one.

In another close race, independent Bob Brierley took Hindley Green, despite intense pressure from Labour.

Lowton East, which was previously held by Leigh MP James Grundy for the Conservatives, was won by Marie Cooper.

In Atherton, Jamie Hodgkinson recorded a victory for the Independent Network.

Wigan Council leader David Molyneux was among those to defend his seat.

Ward-by-ward results

Astley Mosley Common:

David Stirzaker (Conserative) 1476

Paula Wakefield (Labour) 1978


Paul Fairhurst (Conservative) 610

Lorraine Gillon (Lib Dem) 63

John Harding (Labour) 1073

Natasha Hodgkinson (Independent Network) 587

Zoe Irlam (LATT) 112


Julie Hilling (Labour) 998

Jamie Hodgkinson (Independent Network) 1669

Emily Siddall (Conservative) 412

Quinton Smith (LATT) 231

Golborne and Lowton West:

Stanley Crook (Conservative) 925

Yvonne Klieve (Labour) 1619

Susan Spibey (Independent) 276

Brian Witt (Lib Dem) 62


Alan Baines (Independent) 305

Paul Blay (Labour) 1497

Hilda Byrne (Independent) 292

John Skipworth (Lib Dem) 91

Mark Temperton (Conservative) 422

Hindley Green:

Bob Brierley (Independent) 1066

Paul Chapman (Conservative) 455

James Palmer (Labour) 1058

Graham Suddick (Lib Dem) 37

Leigh East:

Trevor Barton (Independent) 473

Keith Cunliffe (Labour) 1353

James Geddes (Conservative) 584

James Morley (LATT) 249

Lewis Parkin (Lib Dem) 69

Leigh South:

Kevin Anderson (Labour) 1695

Simon Brooks (LD) 131

Dave Fraser (LATT) 213

Joshua Yates (Conservative) 1423

Leigh West:

Sue Greensmith (Labour) 1582

Sharron-Lee Honey (Lib Dem) 104

Gerard Houlton (Conservative) 714

Jayson Lomax-Hargreaves (LATT) 394

Lowton East:

Marie Cooper (Conservative) 2395

Garry Lloyd (Labour) 1516

Christopher Noon (Lib Dem) 123

Other results across the Wigan borough


David Bowker (Independent) 425

Beverley Bridgewater (Conservative ) 628

Daniel Simm (Lib Dem) 77

Martyn Smethurst (Labour) 1411


Danny Fletcher (Labour) 1752

Geoffrey Matthews (Lib Dem) 125

Edward Sturdy (Conservative) 816

Aspull New Springs Whelley:

Laura Flynn (Labour) 1736

Andrew Holland (Lib Dem) 112

John Hulme (Independent) 719

Luke Marsden (Conservative) 853


Judith Atherton (Conservative) 252

Mary Callaghan (Labour) 703

Steve Jones (Indepdendent) 2047

Denise Melling (Liberal Democrat) 51


Margaret Atherton (Conservative) 495

Patricia Draper (Labour) 1535

Donald Macnamara (Lib Dem) 159


Allan Atherton (Conservative) 369

Jordan Gaskell (Ukip) 242

David Molyneux (Labour) 1298


Marjorie Clayton (Conservative) 1540

Joseph Saunders (Labour) 1140

Neil Stevenson (Lib Dem) 225

Mark Tebbutt (Labour) 1285

Stuart Thomas (Lib Dem) 110

Michael Winstanley (Conservative) 1456


David Burley (Lib Dem) 180

Jean Peet (Conservative) 477

Jeanette Prescott (Labour) 1476

Shevington with Lower Ground:

Brian Crombie-Fisher (Lib Dem) 220

Michael Crosby (Labour) 1432

Gareth Fairhurst (ShInd) 739

Gary Robinson (Conservative) 798

Standish with Langtree:

Debbie Fairhurst (StInd) 644

Caroline Waddicor (Lib Dem) 96

Raymond Whittingham (Conservative) 1997

Dave Wood (Labour) 911.


Susan Atherton (Conservative) 771

Jack Davies (Lib Dem) 213

James Fish (Ref) 121

Julian Marsh (LATT) 429

Antonino Panebianco (Indepdent) 105

Nazia Rehman (Labour) 1559

Wigan Central:

Lawrence Hunt (Labour) 2016

Benjamin Thomas (Lib Dem) 243

Joe Worthington (Conservative) 938.

Wigan West:

Ian Dyer (Lib Dem) 295

Terence Halliwell (Labour) 1664

Marie Winstanley (Conservative) 592


Paul Kenny (Labour) 1614

Michael Owens (Conservative) 801

Robert Stevenson (Lib Dem) 365

Worsley Mesnes:

Danny Cooke (Independent) 242

David Hurst (Labour) 1549

John Parrott (Lib Dem) 61

Cyril Pendlebury (Conservative) 565

Key for abbreviations: LATT - Leigh, Atherton and Tyldesley Together, Lib Dem - Liberal Democrat, ShInd - Shevington Independents, StInd - Standish Independents, Ref - Reform UK