THE candidates looking to become a Member of Parliament across the borough have been confirmed as the General Election campaign gathers pace.

With Prime Minister Rishi Sunak announcing that the country will go to the polls on Thursday, July 4, candidates across the borough have been vying for support after kicking off their campaign trails.

Four seats will represent residents across the Wigan borough, including the new boundary of Leigh and Atherton, which also includes areas in Astley, Tyldesley, Golborne, Lowton, and Hindley Green. The town's current MP, James Grundy, announced that he will not be standing in the upcoming election.

The Wigan constituency contains areas in central Wigan as well as Aspull, Whelley, Ince, Pemberton, Shevington, and Standish.

The Makerfield constituency contains areas in Ashton, Abrham, Bryn, Hindley, Hindley Green, Orrell, Winstanley, and Worsley Mesnes. The current MP, Yvonne Fovargue, announced that she will not be standing in the upcoming election.

The Worsley and Eccles constituency, while under the jurisidiction of Salford City Council, also contains areas in Astley and Mosley Common.

READ > Family's tribute as inquest opens for 'one of a kind' truck driver crushed by crane


Leigh and Atherton

  • Labour: Jo Platt
  • Conservative: Michael Winstanley
  • Liberal Democrats: Stuart Thomas
  • Green: Amelia Jones
  • Reform: George Woodward
  • English Democrats: Craig Buckley


  • Labour: Lisa Nandy
  • Conservative: Henry Mitson
  • Liberal Democrats: Brian Crombie-Fisher
  • Green: Jane Leicester
  • Reform: Andy Dawber
  • Independent: Jan Cunliffe
  • Independent: The Zok


  • Labour: Josh Simons
  • Conservative: Simon Finklestein
  • Liberal Democrats: John Skipworth
  • Green: Maria Deery
  • Reform: Robert Kenyon
  • English Democrats: Thomas Bryer

Worsley and Eccles

  • Labour: Michael Wheeler
  • Liberal Democrats: Jemma De Vincenzo
  • Green: David Jones
  • Reform: Craig Thomas Birtwistle
  • Workers Party: Nasri Barghouti

How to vote in the General Election

If they are not already, people need to register to vote. The deadline to register is midnight on Tuesday, June 18. You can register online here.

People voting at a polling station are now legally required to provide an accepted form of photo ID before being provided with their ballot paper.

People can apply for a postal vote online here. The deadline to apply for a postal vote for this election is 5pm on Wednesday, June 19.

The deadline to make a proxy application is 5pm on Wednesday, June 26. The person appointed as a proxy, must be registered to vote and they will need to show their (the proxy not the elector) Photo ID before they are issued with a ballot paper.

British citizens who live outside the UK can register to vote as an overseas elector. Visit here for more.