ASTLEY & Tyldesley cycle speedway rider Adam Phillips has won the British U10 Grand Prix series.

He went into the final round of the series with a slender three points lead over his nearest challenger, James Robinson, of Newport.

He outscored his rival in the qualification races at Ipswich on Saturday and was able to take his place in the 'A' Final, safe in the knowledge that the overall title was already secured, as Robinson only qualified for the 'B' Final and therefore could not catch his points tally.

Adam Watson took second place in the U10 D Final, Ben Dickenson took third place in the U16 C Final, while Ben Keen was edged out of a place in the U16 Finals.

A & T hosted the 2008 Club Individual Championships under the Gin Pit floodlights in midweek.

Newcomer Josh Peacock beat Adam Turnbull in a run-off to take the U8 title, after both had tied on 14 points.

There was another run-off required, to determine the U10 title. This time Adam Watson beat Stefan Whitelegg, after both had finished on 11 points, with impressive newcomer Colin Farn taking third place.

Joel Partington was a clear winner of the U13 category, winning all his four races, with first year rider Josh Gore taking second place. Ben Dickenson took the U16 title, with a 14 points haul, which was sufficient to put him in a run-off for second place in the Open category, where he was beaten by Darek Kurkowski.

Roy Heslop retained his veterans title, while the overall winner of the Open category was Dariusz Pilas, who raced to an impressive 16 points maximum and recorded the fastest time of the night.