LEIGH Centurions players have important international dates this weekend.

Hooker Liam Hood is in the Scotland squad that will be hoping to surprise a few doubters when they open the Ladbroke Four Nations tournament against world champions Australia at Hull KR tonight, Friday, kick off 8pm (live on Premier Sports).

Scotland 19-man squad: Danny Addy, Dale Ferguson, Ben Kavanagh (Bradford Bulls); Frankie Mariano (Castleford Tigers); Luke Douglas (Gold Coast Titans), Ryan Brierley, Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants); Adam Walker (Hull KR); Billy McConnachie (Ipswich Jets); Liam Hood (Leigh Centurions); Ben Hellewell (London Broncos); Sheldon Powe-Hobbs (Northern Pride); Lachlan Coote, Kane Linnett (North Queensland Cowboys); Euan Aitken (St George Illawarra Dragons); Matthew Russell (Warrington Wolves); Tyler Cassel (Wests Tigers); Sam Brooks (Widnes Vikings); Lewis Tierney (Wigan Warriors).

And Sam Hopkins has been added to a Wales squad aiming to book their place in next year’s Rugby League World Cup in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea.

Jake Emmitt misses out with injury but Hopkins is named in John Kear’s 19-man squad for tomorrow’s European Pool A automatic qualifier decider against Italy in Monza.

Tomorrow’s winners will go on to play in World Cup Group C next October and November alongside co-hosts Papua New Guinea, with the losers heading for the final qualifying play-off against either Ireland or Russia in Leigh next Friday, November 4.

Regan Grace, Lewis Reece and Christiaan Roets are unable to travel, while Wales are forced into changes resulting from Ollie Olds, who suffered a broken hand in their home win over Serbia, Emmitt, who picked up a hamstring injury in training, and Ian Newbury, who damaged a leg in their 16-16 draw with Jamaica last Friday, all ruled out.

Terry Campese will lead the Italian charge, the squad having come through a virus that ran through the camp this week.

The Azzurri are fresh from a comprehensive 62-14 win in Serbia for this first-ever rugby league match in the sports-mad city of Monza, with the kick-off time moved to 4pm CET to accommodate a festival of rugby league, including a curtain-raiser which will see Italy ‘A’ face Belgium.

Italy head coach Cameron Ciraldo said: “Wales are deserved favourites and have a very strong squad and a number of very talented players who are in good form.

“We are very excited to be playing at home in Monza and hopefully have a good crowd to support us. We have come together very well and I’m confident we can challenge, I believe a lot in this group.”

Kear said: “Italy are very experienced, they have a lot of talented heritage players in their squad.

“They had a good win in Serbia last weekend and looked dangerous so we know that it’s going to be a big challenge.

“After the disappointing draw with Jamaica which acted as a wake-up call, we’ve had a good week in training and we’ll be looking to go out there and put in a performance.

“Hopefully, that’ll be enough to get us through to next year’s World Cup.”

The nations met in the group stages of the 2013 World Cup, with Italy winning 32-16 at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

The match will be live streamed at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3d8XnEjJng

Italy 19-man squad: Dean Parata (Blacktown), Patrik Ziliotti (Brianza Tigers), Joel Reithmuller (Cairns Brothers), Jayden Walker (Cronulla Sharks), Terry Campese, (Hull KR), Christophe Calegari (Lezignan Corbieres), Guiseppe Pagani (Lions Brescia), Gavin Hiscox (Mackay Cutters), Gioele Celerino (Newcastle Thunder), Kieran Quabba (North Queensland Cowboys), Ryan Ghietti, Col Wilkie, Justin Castellaro (Northern Pride), Richard Lepori (Oldham Roughyeds), Mason Cerruto (Parramatta Eels), Shannon Wakeman (St George-Illawarra), Brenden Santi (Townsville Blackhawks), Chris Centrone (Wyong Roos), Mirco Bergamasco (unattached).

Wales 19-man squad: Danny Ansell (Hunslet Hawks), Sam Hopkins (Leigh Centurions), Elliot Kear, Rhys Williams (London Broncos), Andrew Gay (Mackay Cutters), Joe Burke (Oldham), Phil Joseph (vice captain) Craig Kopczak (captain) (Salford Red Devils), Matty Fozard (Sheffield Eagles), Courtney Davies, Dai Evans, Connor Farrer (South Wales Ironmen), Ben Morris (St Helens), Rhodri Lloyd (Swinton Lions), Morgan Evans, Steve Parry (University of Gloucestershire All Golds), Anthony Walker (Wakefield Wildcats) and Gil Dudson, Lloyd White (Widnes Vikings).