HEAD coach John Duffy has unveiled Leigh’s squad numbers for the 2020 Betfred Championship season but insists every place is up for grabs, writes Trevor Baxter.

And Duffy had still to confirm Centurions’ skipper for the new campaign at the time of Journal Sport going to press.

Many fans though will be intrigued to see Ben Reynolds and Jarrod Sammut chosen at numbers six and seven.

Both played in the top flight last season with Wakefield and Wigan Warriors respectively though Reynolds re-joined Leigh before the end of the campaign.

Martyn Ridyard, in his testimonial season, will wear 19 after taking six in 2019 with Josh Woods picking up number 17 after previously being awarded seven.

Scottish international Liam Hood takes the number nine shirt worn with distinction by Micky Higham who finally retired at the end of last term.

Gregg McNally resumes with number one on his back while centre Iain Thornley retains his squad place at three.

“We have got a really good group this year and the standard of training during pre-season has been very high,” said Duffy.

“I have been really happy with the attitude of the players and the way they approach everything.

“The boys were told their squad numbers last week. I know some people read a lot into who is awarded which number but they don’t mean anything in terms of who gets selected.

“The numbers were selected based on who has trained well and stood out in the last few weeks.”

Leigh squad numbers for 2020:

1 Gregg McNally, 2 Ryan Ince, 3 Iain Thornley, 4 Junior Sa’u, 5 Adam Higson, 6 Ben Reynolds, 7 Jarrod Sammut, 8 Nathan Mason, 9 Liam Hood, 10 Mark Ioane, 11 Ben Hellewell, 12 Andy Thornley, 13 Danny Addy, 14 Matty Wildie, 15 Jordan Thompson, 16 Sam Brooks, 17 Josh Woods, 18 Tom Spencer, 19 Martyn Ridyard, 20 Liam Forsyth, 21 Nick Glohe, 22 Craig Mullen, 23 Callum Field, 24 Brad Holroyd.

* Rugby League’s squad declaration system has been revised for the 2020 season. Instead of teams being required to name a 19-player squad by noon two days before each fixture, they will now be required to name a 21-player squad at that time.

For each player though from outside that 21 who is then called into the team’s 17-player match-day squad, that side will lose one of the eight interchanges permitted for that fixture.

The only exceptions to this will involve the dual registration system.