BURY was the venue for Round 5 of the Manchester Individual Grand Prix series on Sunday. On a glorious, sunny afternoon, 19 riders turned out in the meeting.

Astley & Tyldesley's Duncan Whalley raced to a 16 points maximum in the u-13s match. He pulled off fine passes over Bury's Tom Dunphy and Sheffield's Oliver Banyard to win heat 1,

then twice finished ahead of team mate Frank White. This puts Duncan and Tom as joint leaders of the series. Just four riders contested the Junior event, as Harry Radford, of Bury,

raced to a maximum score, to clinch the overall series win. A&T's Reece Pollitt raced to a 16 points maximum in the Senior match, to extend his series lead to 14 points. Five riders

were in close contention with each other, all finishing on either 12 or 13 points.

Manchester Individual Grand Prix Round 5 results

U-13s: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 16, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 15, Frank White (A&T) 14, Oliver Banyard (Sheffield) 13, Lucy Grantham (A&T) 12, Harriet Belt (A&T) 9, Oscar Belt (A&T) 9, Myles

Grantham (A&T) 8, Sam Dunphy (Bury) 8, Bobby Dunphy (Bury) 7.

Junior: Harry Radford (Bury) 16, John White (A&T) 11, Tom Morrissey (A&T) 9, Frank White (A&T) 4.

Senior: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 16, John White (A&T) 13, Tom Morrissey (A&T) 13, Kyle Holland (Sheffield) 13, Mark Grantham (A&T) 12, Eryk Motala (Bury) 12, Mark Radford (Bury) 10,

Steve Mann (Bury) 9.

Leading Series scorers

U-13s: Tom Dunphy (Bury) 73, Duncan Whalley (A&T) 73, Oliver Banyard (Sheffield) 52, Oscar Belt (A&T) 44, Bobby Dunphy (Bury) 44.

Junior: Harry Radford (Bury) 78, Tom Morrissey (A&T) 47, Kielan Burton (Sheffield) 41, Emily Burgess (A&T) 40.

Senior: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 74, Eryk Motala (Bury) 60, Kyle Holland (Sheffield) 48, Harry Radford (Bury) 40.

A trophy will be awarded to the winner of each category.

The final Round 6 will take place at Astley & Tyldesley on Sunday 20th September, 1 pm start.

Individual successes for A&T pair

Emily Burgess raced to victory in the prestigious Ade Gale Women's Laurels Individual at Poole, sponsored by GG Express Couriers, on Sunday. This event always attracts a top

class field and Emily made light of an unfavourable draw, with two grid 4's, to race to a 20 points maximum score. Runner-up was Poole's Sandra Tamborska, on 19 points, one ahead

of team mate Maddie Saunders.

Steve Harris took the win in the o-35 category at the Robert Atkinson Memorial Trophy event at Hull, on Sunday. Steve won all his qualifying races, and then sped away to take the

win in the 'A' Final, finishing ahead of Leicester's Craig Marchant, Edinburgh's Jason Keith and Birmingham's Mark Winwood.